All Just Glass

Genre: Young Adult

So I’ve been on an Amelia Atwater-Rhodes kick lately; my last review was over Token of Darkness, and now I just finished reading her 2011 novel, All Just Glass. I promise my next review will be something different.

All Just Glass is a sequel to Atwater-Rhodes’ 2001 novel Shattered Mirror, and more or less picks up right where the previous novel left off. One piece of advice I’d give to potential readers is to go back and read Shattered Mirror before picking up this book. I didn’t do this, and I had a hard time recalling some of the details of what was going on (searching into my mind for specifics about a book I read years ago wasn’t as easy as I’d hoped it’d be).

One of the great things about this book, if you’re an Atwater-Rhodes fan, is that you get to return to some familiar characters. The twin vampires, Kristopher and Nikolas, are two characters I really enjoyed the first time around, and I liked seeing these characters get flushed out even more. Discovering that these boys had deeper personalities than what we were initially able to see made them seem more real, and not just flat representations of good and evil.

The Vida line of witches, out to kill Kristopher and Nikolas, is also revealed to be surprisingly human. For a line that prides itself on perfection, its youngest generation has to come to terms with the fact that they are all flawed.

Also, this book introduces one of my favorite characters from Atwater-Rhodes’ later book Promises to Keep, so it was fun seeing a younger version of him hanging around.

As far as themes go, there’s a lot a person could take out of this. Ideas of family, responsibility, honor, revenge, tradition, and acceptance of who you are and what you’re capable of are  all topics the characters have to deal with in a book that spans just over twenty-four hours. One of the major themes of the young adult genre is the idea of growing up and becoming comfortable with who you’ll be as an adult. We see this transformation in several of the characters in All Just Glass, including the point of view characters of Adia, Zachary, and Sarah.

Transitioning from what we were to what we’re going to be is not easy, but it’s something everyone goes through. I’m glad this book deals with this theme so directly. These were the kinds of books that helped be get through high school all those years ago: the kind that let me know I wasn’t alone in making that transition.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

