R.I.P.D.

That’s the Rest in Peace Department. This film probably won’t be up for any awards of any kind — ever — but I knew what I was getting myself into when I walked into the theater.

Ryan Reynolds plays Nick, a dirty cop who has gotten himself in over his head, much more than he could ever know. When he decides to go clean, he’s killed by his partner in crime/partner on the force, Hayes (Kevin Bacon). That’s when the adventure begins. Because he was an exceptional cop, Nick is offered a position with the R.I.P.D., where he gets a new partner (Jeff Bridges) and a chance to take down the man who killed him.

R.I.P.D., taken from imdb.com

R.I.P.D., taken from imdb.com

OK, so it might sound a bit cliched. In all honesty, this movie is exactly what you would expect it to be: ridiculous, and a bit cheesy. But it makes for a good time, and as long as you’re not going in hoping to see the next big thing, you should find yourself laughing along at Bridges’ gungho cowboy (at least for the first half hour, or so) or Reynold’s vacant stares and inability to cope. If not, don’t worry. It’s a short film (96mins), so it will be over soon.

My main reason for wanting to go see this film: Ryan Reynolds. I’m a big fan of his. He has a way of appearing awkward and a bit lost that makes me laugh every time. His performance in this film is no different. There’s just something about him, like a puppy-dog stuck out in the rain, that makes you want to sympathize with his characters. Did I sympathize with Nick? Sure. I wanted him to succeed. But I didn’t find myself caring much about what that success entailed.

When it comes right down to it, everything about this film is expected. There are no surprises, no out-of-left-field plot twists. It is what it is. Was it the best film I’ve ever seen? No. But I can think of worse ways I could have spent my afternoon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Movies

Leave a Reply

