The Adventuress

Genre: Fiction

I have taken a bit of a step out of my normal reading zone with N.D. Coleridge’s The Adventuress this week, but I’m glad I did. In all honesty, this isn’t a book I would have picked up on my own. Cosmo is doing this thing this year where each month they give you a list of things to do, including new books coming out that you should read. The Adventuress was on the Cosmo reading list for June. (I know that was a while ago, but getting books through the library means you have to wait a while.) Anyway, I’m hoping to read through the Cosmo list as a way of branching out in my reading, and The Adventuress was a great place to start.

The story follows a young girl named Cath through roughly thirty years of her adult life. Cath, having grown up poor, decides she wants more out of life and is willing to do anything necessary to achieve her goals. Cath is a great character who, throughout the entire book, I couldn’t decided if I admired or was put off by. She is sexy, determined, smart, manipulative, and clever beyond belief. I wanted to root for her, but at the same time I kept wishing she would make better choices. But then again, who’s to say the choices she made aren’t the best she could have done?

Following such a character, living by the mantra that if you want something, you have to go after it, not just sit around and hope it comes to you, makes for an exhilarating read. For me, the book took a while to get going. I found myself only reading about thirty pages at a time before I put it down to do something else. However, it got better as it went along, and I found myself racing through the last hundred pages, anxious to see how everything was going to unfold.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

