Panic! at the Disco

If I had to sum up this show, I would say “high energy”. It’s been a long time since I last went to a punk show, and it was thrilling to be back in the crowd. I had never seen Panic! at the Disco perform before, though I’ve been a fan since A Fever You Can’t Sweat Out first came out in 2005. After a show like this, I would definitely go see them again.

Panic! at the Disco, August 2013.

Panic! at the Disco, August 4, 2013.

The venue where the show took place (the Jewish Mother), is very small and was packed to the brim. One thing I have to say is that I was surprised by how many high-school aged kids there were there. I figured the band would appeal more to an audience my age, since we listened to Panic! at the Disco throughout our high school and college days. It’s good news for the band though. It means they have the appeal to hang around.

The show itself was a lot shorter than I was expecting; the band only played for an hour. But they did a fantastic job of managing that time and choosing a set full of songs the audience most wanted to hear. Among those songs were The Ballad of Mona Lisa, which the band started with; their big hit I Write Sins Not Tragedies, which was a sing-a-long for their closer; and, of course, their brand new single Miss Jackson

If you haven’t heard Miss Jackson yet, I urge you to check it out. I have to admit, the song has been stuck in my head ever since I first heard it several weeks ago. It’s the first single released from Panic! at the Disco’s upcoming album Too Weird to Live, Too Rare to Die! due to come out in October. I can’t wait!

WP_000665One of the best things about this show was the band was big on getting the audience involved. As I already mentioned, they made sure to fit in all the ‘big hits’ that people knew and would want to hear them play. They were also good about getting the audience to sing along, joking with people in the crowd, and really performing for the crowd. One of the great things about a small venue is that it allows for an intimacy between the band and the audience that you just can’t get at big arena shows (another reason why I love going to shows at the Jewish Mother).

And according to recent reports, it looks like this concert was one of the last for drummer Spencer Smith. He announced the next day that he was leaving the tour to deal with a drug and alcohol problem he had developed over the years. I’m really glad I got to see him play before he left. He nailed it! I wish Spencer the best of luck in getting well.

1 Comment

Filed under Events

One response to “Panic! at the Disco

  1. Pingback: The Mowgli’s | andygalewrites

Leave a Reply

