The Mowgli’s

The Mowgli's, Aug. 8, 2013

The Mowgli’s, Aug. 8, 2013

Less than a week after seeing Panic! at the Disco, I was back at the Jewish mother to see another show. This time, The Mowgli’s took the stage. I’ll be honest and say that before going to the concert, I’d really only heard one song by them. But I loved that song so much that I wanted to go see them when they were in town this past March. However, as luck would have it, that concert took place on Easter Sunday, so going to a concert wasn’t very feasible. But this week I finally got to see The Mowgli’s play, and I’m glad I got to go.

I was telling a friend about the concert today, and she asked what kind of music The Mowgli’s play. My response: feel good music.

Even though I wasn’t familiar with most of their songs, they made me want to dance and sing along. The whole concert had an “I love you, you love me” kind of feel to it, like every little thing is gonna be alright. They even had everybody in the audience join together in a massive group hug.

Now, as I’ve said in previous posts, the Jewish Mother is a small venue, so I was a bit concerned about how they were going to fit all the Mowglis on stage (there are eight of them). It was a bit crowded in the end, not a lot of room for them to move around, but they still put on an entertaining show. There was a very small audience in attendance — something I was a bit surprised by — and so the show was very intimate and friendly. Members of the band even got down from the stage and stood among the crowd while performing.

The Mowgli's performing "San Francisco"

The Mowgli’s performing “San Francisco”

The show ended with the band’s most popular song, the only one I knew going into the show, “San Francisco”. The Mowgli’s encouraged the audience to sing along, and even pulled one fan up on stage to sing and dance with them while they were performing.

The exciting moment of the night for me: the one female band member, Katie Jayne Earl, gave me a high-five as she walked past me on her way off stage at the end of the show.

I may not have known much about this band going into the show, but now that I’ve seen them perform and have gotten the chance to hear more of their music, I’m ready to go buy their album so that next time I’ll be able to sing along.

Leave a comment

Filed under Events

Leave a Reply

