The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P.

Genre: Fiction

I actually finished reading The Love Affairs of Nathaniel P. by Adelle Waldman a while ago; however, I’ve only just now find time to write my review over it. Though it was alright as a whole, the characters had a tendency to rub me the wrong way. They were a bit uppity, as if they thought they were better than people like me who would read fiction (thus allowing me to read their story). I didn’t really like reading about characters who I felt would look down on me if we were to cross paths.

The story follows a man named Nate who has just had a publishing deal go through. Nate finds himself in a relationship he didn’t quite intend on having with a woman named Hannah. Everything seems to be great between them at first, but Nate has never really been good at settling down in a relationship.

I liked Nate’s cockiness and self-assuredness at times, but after a while, the character started to annoy me. I don’t know; perhaps that was the point. He bitches a lot about situations I, as a reader, found hard to sympathize with, mostly because Nate had a tendency to create these situations for himself.

So while I didn’t mind reading this one, it’s probably not one I’ll pick up again. There are some good moments in it — some funny ones too. But at the end of the day, it was just so-so.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

