96X Winter Meltdown

The 96x Winter Meltdown is one of those shows that some years sounds really fun and other years sounds really boring. Luckily, this year was one of the fun ones. The line up this year included MS MR, The 1975, New Politics, The Neighbourhood, Capital Cities, and (the main reason I went to the show) Fall Out Boy. Unfortunately, The 1975 got snowed in and couldn’t make it to the show. Instead, their time slot was filled by a Chesapeake-based band called The Last Bison. In all, I had a great time at the show. It was high energy and had the crowd on their feet singing along. Some bands were better than others, which is to be expected. Some completely rocked out, while others I just had to suffer through to get to the good parts.

MS MR 12-12-13

MS MR 12-12-13

MS MR 
MS MR was the first band to take the stage. In all honesty, their current single, Hurricane, has never been a favorite of mine. They are a relatively new band, and it kind of shows in their performance. They were exciting to watch for about the first song. After that, I lost interest. But again, They’ve never been a favorite of mine.

The Last Bison
The Last Bison was the step-in-at-the-last-minute band. It was awesome of them to be willing to fill in when The 1975 couldn’t get to town. As a local band, they had a huge fan base in the crowd, which made their performance a bit special; there’s nothing quite like performing for the home crowd.

The Last Bison 12-12-13

The Last Bison 12-12-13

They are a band that, on the radio, are okay to listen to. I think my main problem with this band is the fact that they have one song, Switzerlandthat 96x plays over and over again. As a result, it’s grown a bit old. However, I was surprised to find that I really enjoyed listening to the other music they played. I enjoyed it so much, that I didn’t even mind when Switzerland came up on their set. In fact, I even sang along. My overall opinion of The Last Bison: they put on a great show and were really fun to watch.

New Politics
After The Last Bison finished their set, New Politics took the stage. New Politics

New Politics 12-12-13

New Politics 12-12-13

New Politicsdefinitely knows how to put on a high energy show. The band was great at getting the audience involved and actually performing for the crowd. Their lead singer even took a break from singing to put on a break dancing routine (oh the core muscles that man must have!). Needless to say, I was impressed. My liking their performance was probably in part influenced by the fact that I’m kind of in love with their current single, Harlem. As someone who grew up on pop-punk music, this song has just enough of that punk feel in a time when punk is slowly fading, that I can’t help but love it because it reminds me of the good old days.

The Neighbourhood

The Neighbourhood 12-12-13

The Neighbourhood 12-12-13

I was so pumped after New Politics left the stage, and then came the buzz kill. The Neighbourhood is one of my least favorite bands out at the moment. Their song Sweater Weather was easy enough to ignore at first, but after it was played on the radio 15,000 times a day, I got to the point I change the station every time it comes on. I also thought they were the worst performers of the night. It might have been poor sound management. The bass was turned up so loud it was all I could hear. I spent their entire 45 minute set with my fingers in my ears, trying to keep them from bleeding. However, I will say that others seemed to enjoy the performance much more than I did. When the band first took the stage, the girls around me started swooning, calling out, “Jesse!” in hopes that the lead singer would notice them. It’d been a long time since I was around such a large crowd of fangirls (probably since I went to a concert on the Backstreet Boys Millennium tour). All I could do was shrug my shoulders and think, “Who knew?”

Capital Cities
Once The Neighbourhood’s set finally ended, Capital Cities took to the stage. If you’ve never heard their song Safe and Sound, I suggest you do so. This band is high energy, fun, and great at putting on a show. One thing I really enjoyed about their performance was that they were really good at getting the audience involved. The final 10 minutes of their 45 minute set pretty much turned into a giant dance party. It was great. Capital Cities came in number two for my favorite performances for the night.

Capital Cities 12-12-13

Capital Cities 12-12-13

Fall Out Boy
Nothing against the other bands, but as the main even for the night, and by far my favorite, Fall Out Boy was absolutely amazing! This was the band I went to this concert to see. At the moment, I’m a bit obsessed with their new album Save Rock and Roll. But I’ve been a fan of Fall Out Boy since Take This to Your Grave. Now it was my turn to freak out like a little fangirl. This was the first time I had ever seen Fall Out Boy perform, and they did not disappoint. And the best part… I was in the very front. Which is important for someone who’s only 5 feet tall and usually can’t see over everybody else. And though I had already been standing in a hot and sweaty crowd for 5 hours by time they took the stage, I had no problem getting into the mood of the music. It’s funny that you can always tell the veteran bands at a live show. They’re the ones who have got all the kinks out, everything runs smoothly and sounds excellent, and they’re the ones who really know how to perform.

FOB JoeFOB PatrickWP_000903

 
Leave a comment

Filed under Events

Leave a Reply

