The Fault in Our Stars

Genre: Fiction

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green was given to me this Christmas. I had seen the book in the store, but I hadn’t heard anything about it. I sat down to read not knowing what I was getting myself into, which, I feel, is sometimes the best way to start a book. I liked this book, though to get through it, you have to resign yourself to the fact that you’re going to find yourself upset with how unfair life can be sometimes.

This story is narrated by 16-year-old Hazel Lancaster, a girl who has already outlived her life expectancy with terminal cancer. During a support group session for teens with cancer, she meets Augustus Waters, a 17-year-old boy who Hazel just can’t resist. See yet how it’s going to have you upset? But despite their situation, or maybe because of it, Hazel and Augustus form a bond that only they could.

Things I like about this book: The romance, Hazel’s very teenagery tone of narration, the sense of reality that exists throughout it. Things almost never turn out the way we want them to. This is something we all have to learn to live with, whether we like it or not.

The things I disliked were mostly picky things. At times, our narrator sounds like a boy instead of a girl, probably due to the fact that she was created by a man. The pacing of the relationship seems a bit off, though since this isn’t the main point of the book, I understand that the development of the relationship isn’t what’s focused on.

The Fault in Our Stars is scheduled to be released as a film in June 2014. I will be interested to see this adaptation. As for the novel, I would recommend it, but I would warn readers not to focus too much on the details; being too picky and hyper aware of things can make the whole novel seem a bit off. The overall image the book leaves you with, though, is worth the quick read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

