The Road: Questioning Humanity

MV5BMTAwNzk4NTU3NDReQTJeQWpwZ15BbWU3MDg3OTEyODI@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_The Road is a 2009 film based on the novel of the same name by Cormac McCarthy. The story takes place in a post-apocalyptic world where hope and the lifespan of the human race is slowly dying. Though I’ve never read the book, I know a lot about it. A professor at my school teaches this novel in her class, and I’ve worked with many students writing essays over the novel for her class. Director John Hillcoat does a nice job of capturing the dismal world the characters find themselves in.

The movie follows a man and his boy as they travel south to the sea. Along the way, they search for food, do their best to avoid cannibals, and continue to “carry the fire.” The boy has only ever known this dying world, but the man can remember the time before the world began dying. Because of this, the two characters see their situation through different lenses, thus affecting their viewpoints and actions throughout the film.

One thing I enjoyed about this film is that even though I knew what was going to happen at each point and how it was going to end, I was still emotionally invested. I was sad during sad parts, inspired during moments of hope, and scared during startling scenes. (Though I didn’t really like the being scared part. I don’t like being scared…Notice there are no reviews for horror films on this site.) I believe that the fact this movie could get to me even when I knew what was coming means those who worked on it did their jobs well.

In the end, The Road doesn’t leave you with a happy feeling. But I don’t think it was supposed to. What you do end up with is a question. Is there still hope for the human race?

2 Comments

Filed under Movies

2 responses to “The Road: Questioning Humanity

  1. Read the book, and while I admit that it was better, I still have to give this one movie credit for at least staying true to the mood and material of the novel. Good review.

Leave a Reply

