Pride & Prejudice, & Zombies

I must have been the only girl in my entire Brit Lit class in college who did not enjoy reading Pride & Prejudice. I must have been the only girl in my entire friend group who did not adore Mr. Darcy. So when my fiance suggested I read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies by Jane Austin and Seth Grahame-Smith, I must admit that I wasn’t thrilled about the idea.

“Don’t worry,” my fiance assured me. “The book is much better with zombies.”

If nothing else, I have to admit, he was right on that front.

I’m not a big fan of zombie stories. I don’t like scary stories in general. But zombies definitely brought some life to the relationship that develops between Elizabeth Bennett and Mr. Darcy in Jane Austin’s classic. I mean, how could you go wrong incorporating Asian style martial arts into Victorian England?

Elizabeth Bennett as a zombie hunter, devoted to the cause of stopping Satan’s army, is a much more intriguing character than the original Elizabeth who sits around with her sisters and discusses boys (mostly her sisters’ obsessions with them). Elizabeth as a warrior became much more fascinating as her moral line shifted drastically within 19th century England.

And the idea of Elizabeth and Darcy fighting zombies side-by-side? Yes, please!

Though I began this journey full of skepticism, it is a journey that I am ultimately glad I took. The thing I’m most excited about? I read the book just as the movie was coming out! I think I know what I’m going to be seeing next time I get to the theater.

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “Pride & Prejudice, & Zombies

  1. Same about not reading/liking originals. The addition of Zombies is the only time my interest has spiked!

Leave a Reply

